The chandelier is believed to be a unique treasure, as the only candle-lit glass chandelier recorded (let alone surviving) in a parish church.
A ‘Crystal branch having eight arms’ is the description given in an 18th century history of Norfolk, as hanging in the Nave of St Edmunds. At some time (possibly with the introduction of oil lamps?) it was taken down, stored in the tower and forgotten. Rediscovered in the 1960s, and dated as circa 1730, in 1967 the chandelier was refurbished, fitted with new arms, pans and sconces and re-hung in its original position in the Nave. As can be seen by the candles, it is still in regular use today.