The brass Eagle Lectern was presented to the Church in 1886 as a thanks offering from Henry Oakes, Rector’s Churchwarden of that time.

(It should be noted that the titles of “Rector’s” or “People’s” Churchwarden do not exist as such in the contemporary Church of England and are not in use at S. Edmund’s.)

The chandelier is believed to be a unique treasure, as the only candle-lit glass chandelier recorded (let alone surviving) in a parish church.

A ‘Crystal branch having eight arms’ is the description given in an 18th century history of Norfolk, as hanging in the Nave of St Edmunds. At some time (possibly with the introduction of oil lamps?) it was taken down, stored in the tower and forgotten. Rediscovered in the 1960s, and dated as circa 1730, in 1967 the chandelier was refurbished, fitted with new arms, pans and sconces and re-hung in its original position in the Nave. As can be seen by the candles, it is still in regular use today.

The carved image of the Virgin Mary as a girl (by the Spiral Staircase to the Gallery) was obtained from a Cambridge sculptor in 1986. Note that the wording was never completed…

Consecration Cross