The Deanery of Fincham and Feltwell is the only deanery in the Diocese of Ely which is wholly in the County of Norfolk, encompassing 31 parishes in a large geographical area, along a stretch of the River Ouse between Ely and King’s Lynn, and extending eastwards from it.

Within the Deanery there is a wide range of complementary ministries and ministers. Stipendiary clergy in whole-time ministry, retired clergy, Licensed Lay Ministers (also known as Lay Readers), participants in the diocese’s new Authorised Lay Ministry scheme to support the work of parishes, and of course the vast amount of informal ministry exercised by every Christian.

Encouraged by the diocese’s ‘All Good Gifts’ report on ministry (2002), we are working together to develop and integrate this range of ministries, formal and informal, to serve the churches and wider communities within our Deanery.

The Parishes of the Deanery of Fincham & Feltwell

Hockwold with Wilton, Weeting

Feltwell, Methwold

Northwold, Whittington, Wretton with Stoke Ferry

Hilgay with Ten Mile Bank, Southery

Barton Bendish, Beachamwell and Shingham, Boughton, Fincham, Marham, Shouldham, Shouldham Thorpe, Wereham

Bexwell, Denver, Ryston and Roxham, West Dereham

Crimplesham, Downham Market, Stradsett

Nordelph, Stow Bardolph and Stow Bridge, Wimbotsham

Runcton Holme, Tottenhill, Watlington, Wormegay

St. Mary’s, Crimplesham – grouped with Downham Market

St. Mary’s, Stradsett – grouped with Downham Market

St. George’s, Methwold

St. Mary’s, Feltwell

St. Andrew’s, Barton Bendish